Hedy Fry

Physician is the longest-serving woman MP, elected in 1993

Following her impressive eighth straight election win, Hedy Fry became the longest-serving female MP as of 2015 and won yet again in the 2019 election. She also holds the distinction of being the first rookie MP to unseat a sitting prime minister when she defeated Kim Campbell in 1993. During…

Want to see Hedy's full profile?
Sign up for full access

GovGuide is your essential resource on Canadian legislatures, including:

  • Profiles on all MPs, Senators & Ontario MPPs
  • Events Calendar (federal only)
  • Daily Watch (federal only)
  • Advanced searching & filtering
See plans & pricing