Leader

Andrea Horwath

Hamilton Centre

Leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party, Critic, Intergovernmental Affairs

NDP leader leads her party to official opposition status

Andrea Horwath first entered politics with an unsuccessful campaign to represent Hamilton West at the federal level in 1997, which nevertheless built her profile in the city. Later that year, she was elected to city council, after which she served two more terms. Her win in the 2004 by-election that brought her to Queens Park also gave the NDP official party status in the legislature. She later won elections in the newly-drawn riding for Hamilton East in 2007, and in 2009 won the leadership of the NDP.

Horwath holds a bachelor of arts degree in labour studies from McMaster University. She lives in Hamilton with her son Julian.

Current Roles and Responsibilities

  • Leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party
  • Critic, Intergovernmental Affairs
65.25%

Winning percentage last election

Past Political Role(s)

  • 1997-2004: Hamilton City Councillor (Ward 2)

Previous Roles in the Ontario Legislature

  • Critic, Urban Transit (March 29, 2018 – May 8, 2018)
  • Critic, Intergovernmental Affairs (June 26, 2014 - May 8, 2018)
  • Leader, New Democratic Party of Ontario (March 7, 2009 - May 8, 2018)
  • Critic, Intergovernmental Affairs (October 25, 2011 - May 2, 2014)
  • Critic, Intergovernmental Affairs (April 1, 2009 - September 7, 2011)
  • Third Deputy Chair of the Committee of the Whole House (December 5, 2007 - March 26, 2009)
  • Critic, Government and Consumer Services (November 9, 2007 - April 1, 2009)
  • Critic, Occupational Health and Safety (November 9, 2007 – April 1, 2009)
  • Critic, Municipal Affairs (November 9, 2007 – April 1, 2009)
  • Critic, Children and Youth Services (November 9, 2007 - April 1, 2009)
  • Critic, Government Services (November 9, 2007 - April 1, 2009)
  • Critic, Workers Compensation (April 19, 2007 – September 10, 2007)
  • Critic, Women's Issues (September 25, 2006 – September 10, 2007)
  • Critic, Children and Youth Services (September 25, 2006 - September 10, 2007)
  • Chair, Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills (December 14, 2005 - May 16, 2006)
  • Critic, Children's Issues (October 15, 2004 - September 25, 2006)
  • Vice-Chair, Standing Committee on Government Agencies (June 23, 2004 - December 13, 2005)
  • Critic, Pensions (May 31, 2004 – September 10, 2007)
  • Critic, Economic Development and Trade (May 31, 2004 – September 25, 2006)
  • Deputy Third Party House Leader (May 31, 2004 – September 10, 2007)

Federal Electoral History

First elected: 2004 , Hamilton East - Byelection
Re-elected:
  • 2007 , Hamilton Centre
  • 2011 , Hamilton Centre
  • 2014 , Hamilton Centre
  • 2018 , Hamilton Centre

Education

  • McMaster University - Bachelor of Arts (Labour Studies)

Date of Birth

24 October 1962

Place of Birth

Hamilton, ON, Canada

Gender

Female

Languages

English, French

Family

Children:
  • Julian, one son

Office Staff

Erin Morrison
Director of Communications & Strategic Planning 416-325-1702 emorrison@ndp.on.ca
Rowena Santos
Director of Leader's Tour and Community Engagement 416-325-1569 santosr@ndp.on.ca
Karalena McLean
Deputy Director, Legislative Affairs 416-325-2242 mcleank@ndp.on.ca
Alex Callahan
Deputy Director, Research Policy Development 416-325-0334 alexc@ndp.on.ca
Jennifer Barrett
Deputy Director of Leader's Tour 416-325-5710 jbarrett@ndp.on.ca
Doug Hamilton
Communications/Lists 416-325-2753 dhamilton@ndp.on.ca
Robin Nieto
Media Relations Officer 416-325-5105
Sam Pane
Media Relations Coordinator (Bilingual) 416-325-2765 panes@ndp.on.ca
Andrew Schwab
Media Relations Officer 416-325-2358 schwaba@ndp.on.ca
Justin Stayshyn
Media Relations Officer 416-325-2130 stayshynj@ndp.on.ca
Rebecca Elming
Media Relations - Tour 416-325-2427 elmingr@ndp.on.ca
Dillon Waldron
Leader's Special Assistant 416-325-4423 dwaldron@ndp.on.ca
Thadsha Navaneethan
Outreach 416-325-3068 tnavaneethan@ndp.on.ca
Patrick Rooney
Outreach Officer 416-325-2203 wgates-qp@ndp.on.ca
Dan Corvino
Researcher/ Outreach Officer 416-325-3069 corvinod@ndp.on.ca
Ryan Gurcharn
Tour 416-325-2257 rgurcharn@ndp.on.ca
Ali Chatur
Tour/Outreach Officer 416-325-3155 achatur@ndp.on.ca
Jessica Wilkin
Graphic Designer 416-325-0192 jwilkin@ndp.on.ca
Brittany Botting
Researcher 416-325-2362 bbotting@ndp.on.ca
Bilbo Poynter
Researcher 416-325-2741 poynterb@ndp.on.ca
John Bowker
Researcher 416-325-2249 bowkerj@ndp.on.ca
Dakin McDonald
Researcher & Principal Speech Writer 416-325-2597 mcdonaldd@ndp.on.ca

Room / Building

381, Main Legislative Building, Queen's Park

Queens Park Phone

416-325-7116

Constituency Phone

905-544-9644