Leader

Andrea Horwath

Hamilton Centre

Leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party, Critic for Intergovernmental Affairs

NDP leader leads her party to official opposition status

Andrea Horwath first entered politics with an unsuccessful campaign to represent Hamilton West at the federal level in 1997, and expressed a particular passion for the small businesses in the region. Although unsuccessful, Horwath built a profile in the city and went on to win election to city council later that same year, after which she served two more terms. It was her win in the 2004 by-election that brought her to Queens Park and also gave the Ontario NDP official party status in the legislature. She later won elections in the newly-drawn riding for Hamilton East in 2007, and in 2009 won the leadership of the NDP.

Horwath holds a bachelor of arts in labour studies from McMaster University. She has spoken openly about the trials and tribulations of being a single mother and currently lives in Hamilton with her son Julian.

Current Roles and Responsibilities

  • 2009–present: Leader, New Democratic Party of Ontario
  • 2018–present: Critic, Intergovernmental Affairs

Past Political Role(s)

  • 1997-2004: Hamilton City Councillor (Ward 2)

Previous Roles in the Ontario Legislature

  • 2018–2018: Critic, Urban Transit
  • 2006–2011: Critic, Children and Youth Services
  • 2007–2009: Critic, Government and Consumer Services
  • 2007–2009: Critic, Government Services
  • 2007–2009: Critic, Municipal Affairs
  • 2007–2009: Critic, Occupational Health and Safety
  • 2007–2009: Member, Standing Committee on Public Accounts
  • 2007–2009: Third Deputy Chair of the Committee of the Whole House
  • 2007–2007: Critic, Workers Compensation
  • 2006–2007: Critic, Women's Issues
  • 2005–2007: Chair, Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills
  • 2004–2007: Critic, Pensions
  • 2004–2007: Deputy Third Party House Leader
  • 2004–2007: Member, Standing Committee on Estimates
  • 2005–2006: Member, Standing Committee on General Government
  • 2004–2006: Critic, Children's Issues
  • 2004–2006: Critic, Economic Development and Trade
  • 2004–2005: Vice-Chair, Standing Committee on Government Agencies
65.25%

Winning percentage last election

Education

  • McMaster University - Bachelor of Arts (Labour Studies)

Date of Birth

24 October 1962

Place of Birth

Hamilton, ON, Canada

Gender

Female

Languages

English, French

Family

Children:
  • Julian, one son

Office Staff

Michael Balagus
Chief of Staff 416-325-2586 mbalagus@ndp.on.ca
Karla Webber-Gallagher
Principal Secretary 416-325-4061 kwgallagher@ndp.on.ca
Madeline Wilson
Director of Leader's Secretariat 416-325-4423 mwilson@ndp.on.ca
James Chapman
Leader's Assistant 416-325-9727 jchapman@ndp.on.ca
Iman Mohamed
Leader's Correspondence Officer 416-325-5143 imohamed@ndp.on.ca
Devon Sissons
Leader's Scheduler 416-325-1365 dsissons@ndp.on.ca
Thadsha Navaneethan
Tour Officer 416-325-3068 tnavaneethan@ndp.on.ca
Ryan Gurcharn
Tour Officer 416-325-2257 rgurcharn@ndp.on.ca
Erin Morrison
Director of Communications & Strategic Planning 416-325-1702 emorrison@ndp.on.ca
Robin Nieto
Media Relations Officer 416-325-5105
Jodie Shupac
Media Relations Officer 416-325-9756
Sarah Fordham
Communications Officer, Graphic Designer 416-325-0750 sfordham@ndp.on.ca
Justin Stayshyn
Digital Media Producer & Coordinator 416-325-2130 stayshynj@ndp.on.ca
Kristin Foster
Graphic Designer 416-325-0192 kfoster@ndp.on.ca
Eddy Evans
Media Relations Officer 416-325-2427 eevans@ndp.on.ca
Michelle Ervin
Media Relations Officer 416-325-4068 mervin@ndp.on.ca
Sam Pane
Press Secretary 416-325-2765 panes@ndp.on.ca
Jared Walker
Principal Speech Writer & Media Relations Coordinator 416-325-2597 jwalker@ndp.on.ca
Sam Motazedi
Videography/Photography Specialist 416-325-2753 smotazedi@ndp.on.ca
Jennifer Barrett Yin
Director 416-325-5710 jbarrett@ndp.on.ca
Sarika Navanathan
Community Engagement Officer snavanathan@ndp.on.ca
Komal Hussain
Community Engagement Officer 416-325-7823 khussain@ndp.on.ca
Chi Cheng Wat
Community Engagement Officer ccwat@ndp.on.ca
Heather Douglas
Community Engagement Officer 416-325-7089 hdouglas@ndp.on.ca
Simon Pulsifer
Data Manager spulsifer@ndp.on.ca
Brent Cotter
Deputy Director 416-325-9752 bcotter@ndp.on.ca
Geraldine McMullan
Outreach Officer gmcmullan@ndp.on.ca
Kirat Singh
Outreach Officer ksingh@ndp.on.ca
Najiba Sardar
Outreach Officer 416-325-3069 nsardar@ndp.on.ca
Ornella Roman Millor
Outreach Officer 416-325-1062 oromanmillor@ndp.on.ca
Sara King
Outreach Officer 416-325-9744 sking@ndp.on.ca
Nadine Tkatchevskai
Outreach Officer 416-325-2127 ntkatchevskai@ndp.on.ca
Kevin Modeste
Deputy Director 416-325-8166 modestek@ndp.on.ca
Bilbo Poynter
Researcher 416-325-2741 poynterb@ndp.on.ca
John Bowker
Researcher 416-325-2249 bowkerj@ndp.on.ca
Rose D'souza
Researcher 416-325-2203 rdsouza@ndp.on.ca
Samantha Fulmer
Researcher 416-325-2242 sfulmer@ndp.on.ca
Aaron Ward
Researcher 416-325-4267 aaronw@ndp.on.ca
Elliott Anderson
Director 416-325-2596 eanderson@ndp.on.ca
Kyall Glennie
Issues Management Officer 416-325-7876 kglennie@ndp.on.ca
Colleen Rodriguez
Issues Management Officer 416-325-0437 crodriguez@ndp.on.ca

Office Room / Building

Room 381, Main Legislative Building, Queen's Park

Constituency Office Address

Suite 200
20 Hughson St. S
Hamilton, ON L8N 2A1